November 11, 2013

Last Friday, the Basho team held our inaugural Riak Community Hangout.

This 30 minute session is a development focused conversation with topics changing weekly. The Hangout is planned for most Fridays at 11am Pacific/2pm Eastern/7pm GMT, with the URL published shortly before it begins. All Hangouts will be archived and hosted on the Basho Technologies Youtube channel. You should follow @basho for all updates about future Hangouts.

Over the next few weeks, these Hangouts will focus on the new features planned for Riak 2.0.

The first session was hosted by Basho’s Director of Community, Mark Phillips, who discussed Riak Data Types and Riak Search 2.0 with Basho engineers Sean Cribbs, Brett Hazen, and Luke Bakken.

The Hangout began with an overview of Riak Data Types, available with the 2.0 Technical Preview, and examined their implementation, use cases, and implementation considerations. Following this (at 18 minutes, 35 seconds), Brett Hazen provided an overview of Riak Search 2.0 (codenamed Yokozuna) and Luke Bakken queried a portion of the Twitter stream on a cluster running the newest Riak Search 2.0 code.

Upcoming sessions will focus on Riak/Riak CS internals, application building, data modeling, and community requested topics. We are also looking for community members to join in and highlight what you’re building with Riak and Riak CS developers

If you have questions or topics you would like to hear discussed, reach out on the message list, in IRC (#riak on irc.feenode.net), or contact us.

Basho